My Most Anticipated Book Releases of January 2020

Each of us has something to look forward to in the New Year. This year is even more remarkable because it’s the end of a decade and a start of a new one. For us book lovers, we couldn’t help but get excited about upcoming releases, new books to keep in our TBRs and shelves, new favorites, new fictional lovers (lol).

01/07 – Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibañez

A lush tapestry of magic, romance, and revolución, drawing inspiration from Bolivian politics and history.

♥ This is the first time I ever pre-ordered a book! I just couldn’t resist the lovely cover (which is designed by the author herself) and the magical attribute our heroine has in this story.

Ximena is the decoy Condesa, a stand-in for the last remaining Illustrian royal. Her people lost everything when the usurper, Atoc, used an ancient relic to summon ghosts and drive the Illustrians from La Ciudad. Now Ximena’s motivated by her insatiable thirst for revenge, and her rare ability to spin thread from moonlight.

When Atoc demands the real Condesa’s hand in marriage, it’s Ximena’s duty to go in her stead. She relishes the chance, as Illustrian spies have reported that Atoc’s no longer carrying his deadly relic. If Ximena can find it, she can return the true aristócrata to their rightful place.

She hunts for the relic, using her weaving ability to hide messages in tapestries for the resistance. But when a masked vigilante, a warm-hearted princess, and a thoughtful healer challenge Ximena, her mission becomes more complicated. There could be a way to overthrow the usurper without starting another war, but only if Ximena turns her back on revenge—and her Condesa.

01/14 – Dark and Deepest Red by Anna-Marie McLemore

With McLemore’s signature lush prose, Dark and Deepest Red pairs the forbidding magic of a fairy tale with a modern story of passion and betrayal.

♥ Really interesting concept. A book inspired by the Dancing Plague. I’ve never read anything like this before so I’m very intrigued and excited, of course.

Summer, 1518. A strange sickness sweeps through Strasbourg: women dance in the streets, some until they fall down dead.

As rumors of witchcraft spread, suspicion turns toward Lavinia and her family, and Lavinia may have to do the unimaginable to save herself and everyone she loves.

Five centuries later, a pair of red shoes seal to Rosella Oliva’s feet, making her dance uncontrollably. They draw her toward a boy who knows the dancing fever’s history better than anyone: Emil, whose family was blamed for the fever five hundred years ago.

But there’s more to what happened in 1518 than even Emil knows, and discovering the truth may decide whether Rosella survives the red shoes.

01/16 – Dreamland by Nancy Bilyeau

Extravagant, intoxicating and thumping with suspense, bestselling Nancy Bilyeau’s magnificent Dreamland is a story of corruption, class and dangerous obsession.

♥ A main character who works in a bookstore? That’s all I have to know.

The year is 1911 when twenty-year-old heiress Peggy Batternberg is invited to spend the summer in America’s Playground.

The invitation to the luxurious Oriental Hotel a mile from Coney Island is unwelcome. Despite hailing from one of America’s richest families, Peggy would much rather spend the summer working at the Moonrise Bookstore than keeping up appearances with New York City socialites and her snobbish, controlling family.

But soon it transpires that the hedonism of nearby Coney Island affords Peggy the freedom she has been yearning for, and it’s not long before she finds herself in love with a troubled pier-side artist of humble means, whom the Batternberg patriarchs would surely disapprove of.

Disapprove they may, but hidden behind their pomposity lurks a web of deceit, betrayal and deadly secrets. And as bodies begin to mount up amidst the sweltering clamour of Coney Island, it seems the powerful Batternbergs can get away with anything…even murder.

01/28 – Seven Deadly Shadows by Courtney Alameda & Valynne E. Maetani

This thrilling YA retelling of Kurosawa’s Seven Samurai features a girl tasked with saving the world from eternal darkness. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and Marie Lu.

♥ Okay, I AM REALLY EXCITED for this one! It sounds like an anime but in a book! How cool is that?! And her name is Kira? what?! This sounds really awesome and I can’t wait for it.

Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s bullied by the popular girls in school. Her family ignores her. And she’s also plagued with a secret: She can see yokai, the ghosts and demons that haunt the streets of Japan.

But things accelerate from bad to worse when she learns that Shuten-doji, the demon king, will rise at the next blood moon to hunt down an ancient relic and bring the world to a catastrophic end.

Not exactly skilled at fighting anything, much less the dead, Kira enlists the aid of seven powerful death gods to help her slay Shuten-doji. They include Shiro, a kitsune with boy-band looks who is more flirtatious than helpful, and O-bei, a regal demon courtesan with covert reasons of her own for getting involved.

As the confrontation with Shuten-doji draws nearer by the day, the fate of Japan hangs in the balance. Can Kira save humankind? Or will the demon king succeed in bringing eternal darkness upon the world?

01/28 – Blood Countess by Lana Popović

A historical YA horror novel based on the infamous real-life inspiration for Countess Dracula

♥ I’ve always loved watching serial killer documentaries. So having a book with a female serial killer as a main focus is really intriguing.

In 16th century Hungary, Anna Darvulia has just begun working as a scullery maid for the young and glamorous Countess Elizabeth Báthory.

When Elizabeth takes a liking to Anna, she’s vaulted to the dream role of chambermaid, a far cry from the filthy servants’ quarters below. She receives wages generous enough to provide for her family, and the Countess begins to groom Anna as her friend and confidante.

It’s not long before Anna falls completely under the Countess’s spell—and the Countess takes full advantage.

Isolated from her former friends, family, and fiancé, Anna realizes she’s not a friend but a prisoner of the increasingly cruel Elizabeth. Then come the murders, and Anna knows it’s only a matter of time before the Blood Countess turns on her, too.

What are your most anticipated releases this year?

8 thoughts on “My Most Anticipated Book Releases of January 2020”

  1. Fantastic list! I’ve seen Dreamland, but now I’m definitely convinced to add it to my TBR! & I recently read Woven In Moonlight and I really enjoyed it (there’s lots of delicious food described💞)! Happy 2020! 😄✨

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you find something that interests you. ♥ And wow! Now I’m even more excited for Woven in Moonlight, I can’t wait to receive my copy! Thanks for stopping by! Have an amazing 2020. ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.